The Harp of Kings (Warrior Bards, #1)

19 October 2019 | By Juliet Marillier | Filed in: fairy tales.

A young woman is both a bard and a warrior in this thrilling historical fantasy from the author of the Sevenwaters novels.Eighteen year old Liobhan is a powerful singer and an expert whistle player Her brother has a voice to melt the hardest heart, and a rare talent on the harp But Liobhan s bur

The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan

19 October 2019 | By Sherry Thomas | Filed in: fairy tales.

CHINA, 484 A.D A Warrior in DisguiseAll her life, Mulan has trained for one purpose to win the duel that every generation in her family must fight If she prevails, she can reunite a pair of priceless heirloom swords separated decades earlier, and avenge her father, who was paralyzed in his own du

The Unkindest Tide (October Daye, #13)

19 October 2019 | By Seanan McGuire | Filed in: fairy tales.

Hundreds of years ago, the Selkies made a deal with the sea witch they would have the sea for as long as she allowed it, and when the time came, she would call in all their debts at once Many people assumed that day would never come Those people were wrong When the Luidaeg October Toby Daye s

Tiger Queen

19 October 2019 | By Annie Sullivan | Filed in: fairy tales.

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton s famous short story, The Lady

Brightfall

19 October 2019 | By Jaime Lee Moyer | Filed in: fairy tales.

Someone is murdering the Merry Men and if Marian doesn t stop them, her children will be the next to die a wonderful re imagining of Robin Hood and Maid Marian, perfect for fans of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Christina Henry It s been a mostly quiet life since Robin Hood denounced Marian, h

Foremost (The Lost Princesses, #2)

19 October 2019 | By Jody Hedlund | Filed in: fairy tales.

A second princess Another key to the treasure And a cruel king desperate to squelch the growing rebellion Raised in an isolated abbey, Lady Maribel desires nothing than to become a nun and continue practicing her healing arts She s carefree and happy with her life until a visitor comes to t

Reading Beauty

19 October 2019 | By Deborah Underwood | Filed in: fairy tales.

Once upon a planetoid,surrounded by book lovers,a princess, Lex, read morning, noon,and night beneath her covers.When a fairy s curse a deathlike sleep via paper cut threatens to make her kingdom barren of books, it s up to space princess Lex to break the spell and bring books back to her people.

Grimm, Grit and Gasoline (Punked Up Fairy Tales, #1)

19 October 2019 | By Rhonda Parrish | Filed in: fairy tales.

Dieselpunk and decopunk are alternative history re imaginings of roughly the WWI and WWII eras tales with the grit of roaring bombers and rumbling tanks, of We Can Do It and old time gangsters, or with the glamour of flappers and Hollywood starlets, smoky jazz and speakeasies The stories in th

The Hundredth House Had No Walls: A Tor.com Original

19 October 2019 | By Laurie Penny | Filed in: fairy tales.

Laurie Penny is an award winning author, journalist, screenwriter, essayist, public speaker and activist She has written six books, including Bitch Doctrine, Unspeakable Things, and Everything Belongs To The Future She writes essays, columns, features and gonzo journalism about politics, social j

House of Salt and Sorrows

19 October 2019 | By Erin A. Craig | Filed in: fairy tales.

In a manor by the sea, twelve sisters are cursed Annaleigh lives a sheltered life at Highmoor, a manor by the sea, with her sisters, their father, and stepmother Once they were twelve, but loneliness fills the grand halls now that four of the girls lives have been cut short Each death was t

Midnight Beauties (Grim Lovelies, #2)

19 October 2019 | By Megan Shepherd | Filed in: fairy tales.

The witches, beasties, goblins, and Royals return in this spellbinding conclusion to New York Times best selling author Megan Shepherd s Grim Lovelies duology Ever since she discovered her affinity for magic, seventeen year old Anouk has been desperate to become a witch It s the only way to save

Sea Witch Rising (Sea Witch, #2)

19 October 2019 | By Sarah Henning | Filed in: fairy tales.

The Little Mermaid takes a twisted turn in this thrilling sequel to villainess origin story Sea Witch, as the forces of land and sea clash in an epic battle for freedom, redemption, and true love Runa will not let her twin sister die Alia traded her voice to the Sea Witch for a shot at happiness

Snow, Glass, Apples

19 October 2019 | By Neil Gaiman | Filed in: fairy tales.

A chilling fantasy retelling of the Snow White fairy tale by bestselling creators Neil Gaiman and Colleen Doran A not so evil queen is terrified of her monstrous stepdaughter and determined to repel this creature and save her kingdom from a world where happy endings aren t so happily ever after Fr

The Lady in the Coppergate Tower

19 October 2019 | By Nancy Campbell Allen | Filed in: fairy tales.

Hazel Hughes has spent her life believing she is a Medium someone who can talk to ghosts But as of yet, that skill has remained frustratingly elusive She is also suffering from a reoccurring childhood dream of someone who looks almost exactly like Hazel, but this dream version of herself is slowly

Through the Woods

19 October 2019 | By Emily Carroll | Filed in: fairy tales.

It came from the woods Most strange things do Five mysterious, spine tingling stories follow journeys into and out of the eerie abyss These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award winning comic creator Emily Carroll Come take a walk in the woods and see wha

Stepsister

19 October 2019 | By Jennifer Donnelly | Filed in: fairy tales.

Isabelle should be blissfully happy she s about to win the handsome prince Except Isabelle isn t the beautiful girl who lost the glass slipper and captured the prince s heart She s the ugly stepsister who s cut off her toes to fit into Cinderella s shoe which is now filling with blood When