Combustible Punch ePUB ð Kindle Edition


    Free Unlimited eBook Bristol Wheeler is a dark temptress – and selfconfessed serial killerHarriet has no problem killing – and even fewer issues blending back into the background after the act with the cool, calculating eye of a practiced social chameleonManipulative, unpredictable, and exceptionally intelligent, she’s Rick’s worst nightmare – and the ideal subject for his next bookA book that they are both desperate to writeTime is running out – but the sadness will last foreverRick has no choice but to enter the cracked twilight of Harriet’s world and confront the history of her murderous choices up closeAs Rick starts to gather the evidence for his longanticipated book, he finds himself looking into answers that put him in even danger than before – but this time, he may not survive at allIn the vein of Stieg Larsson and Thomas Harris, Combustible Punch is a memorable novel that captivates readers and lingers long after the last pagethriller suspense paulmichaelpeters bestseller bestsellerauthor serialkiller psychologicalthriller psychologicalthrillers."/>
  • Kindle Edition
  • Combustible Punch
  • Paul Michael Peters
  • English
  • 05 June 2018

10 thoughts on “Combustible Punch

  1. Denise Denise says:

    Rick Philips was the only survivor of a high school shooting. Though severely injured, he recovered and published the story of that fateful day. His book, SHELTER IN PLACE, became a bestseller and Rick achieved a measure of fame and fortune along with a job teaching at DuPont University. He's still tortured by nightmares, failed marriages and has no further success at writing. Nearly broke and an alcoholic, he attends a writer's conference and meets a most unusual woman, Harriet Bristol Wheeler. She has a proposition for him -- write her story. Harriet reveals a secret to Rick: she's a serial killer. She says she will tell all and he will write the book. She even offers him something he's not sure he can refuse -- she will commit a final murder and he can name the victim. NO SPOILERS.

    This was interesting but the quirky writing style made the narrative quite confusing. Harriet is a chameleon and Rick a drunk so it's hard to know sometimes what is real and what is not. Neither of the characters was likeable and their motivations were hard to believe or empathize with despite the fact that I really wanted to do so. Most of it required me to have the capacity to suspend disbelief. I'm not sure of the facts about serial killers are correct but it's true, female serials are not as common as male ones. I think I was wanting more detail than was given about Harriet, her victims and the truth. After all the meandering about finding evidence to prove to Rick that Harriet was honest about what she had done, the conclusion came rather abruptly and there seemed to be a sense that the ending was too pat and unfinished. Would I read another book by this author? I don't know.

    Thank you to NetGalley and the author for this e-book ARC to read and review.


  2. PinkAmy loves books, cats and naps PinkAmy loves books, cats and naps says:

    While the premise of COMBUSTIBLE PUNCH seemed intriguing, a school shooting survivor meets a professed serial killed to write her story, the execution bores me. Between sophomoric writing and unsympathetic, unlikable characters, I found myself skimming most of the story.


  3. Connie Lasita Connie Lasita says:

    Rainy Sunday Fast Read

    Really liked this book... it held my attention and I couldn’t put it down. Stayed up until 3 am on a rainy Sunday during the COVID quarantine to finish this book.


  4. Karen Karen says:

    I was very disappointed with this book, it starts out with the description of an alcohol infused night of raunchy sex with a stranger picked up in a hotel & goes downhill. The book is the memoir of an alcoholic writer turned college instructor who engages in the juvenile like behavior of the students he teaches.

    I got tired of the same basically poor decisions made by the main character & the constant referral to an unquestionably traumatic incident from his childhood as an excuse for his inability to grow up & live & act like the adult he supposedly was. I could not finish the book & do not plan to pick up again.


  5. Diogenes Diogenes says:

    Not just written in the first person , but by an.obnoxious, narcissistic narrator. I tried to like this book, but it just wouldn’t let me.

    Almost more annoying were the author/self-publisher’s intrusive emails, touting his tome, begging a good review of my of the advanced copy.


  6. ElizrdbthSpeaks ElizrdbthSpeaks says:

    glad i won this read, i believe it was from a Goodreads giveaway? so fun! thankful! love the cover ... edge of your seat kind of read ... i appreciate that style or genre!! such a new fan. can be read through KU, if u have that service. look forward to more from Paul soon enough!! ( ;


  7. Beverly Laude Beverly Laude says:

    Rick Phillips is the sole survivor of a horrific high school shooting who is still haunted by that event. Although he has written a book about the event, he hasn't done much since except endure two failed marriages and become an alcoholic. Although he is teaching at DuPont University, he is mostly getting by on the remainders of his fame as a survivor.

    When he a wild sexual encounter with a beautiful woman, Harriet Bristol Wheeler, his life is sent into a tailspin. Harriet claims to be a serial killer and wants Rick to write her story. Rick demands evidence and soon finds himself being dragged around the country by this mysterious woman. He starts trying to figure out her motivation: is she crazy, delusional, or just evil? Claiming to have killed twelve people because of their evil aura, she wants Rick to pick number 13 before it's too late.

    The book was fast paced and interesting, but I didn't really care for any of the characters, not even Rick (who you would think would be a more sympathetic person). At times, it was hard to follow the jumps in the story and this was especially true with an audiobook. I felt a little let down by the conclusion, to be honest. I would have liked to know more about Harriet and her exploits (maybe in the form of the book Rick might possibly write?).

    The narrator did a good job with his pacing and voices and kept my interest throughout the book. I was given the chance to listen to the audiobook version of this book by the author and chose to review it.


  8. Elaine Elaine says:

    I thought that this book was fantastic. The plot was refreshing and creative, with lots of suspenseful and creative twists. The main character, Rick, gets sucked into the world of a psychopathic serial killer when she tricks him into cooperating with her plan to write her memoir before she dies of a brain lesion. Rick was the survivor of a school shooting that leaves him an alcoholic who makes poor decisions in life. His new association with the serial killer may be another of his bad decisions. This book has many unique plot twists, including a female serial killer who appears to have many personas, who manipulates Rick into accepting her story of multiple killings. She is dying soon and has nothing to lose. Rick starts to investigate the impact that a brain lesion may have on personality and behavior. But he is also concerned that she may be setting him up to be the suspect in her evil deeds. Rick's haunted past with the school shooting also preys on his mind. He finally has a positive experience when he starts a relationship with his neighbor, but that becomes complicated too. I found the book, which is well narrated in Audible, to be intriguing, complex and very interesting. It is a little slow at first as the author establishes how down and out Rick is with his luck, which is important for the reader to understand how he is sucked into the killer's life. The author gave me a complimentary copy of the book and this is my voluntary review.


  9. Sharon Thurnell Sharon Thurnell says:

    I received this book from a goodreads giveaway. Thank you
    I loved the premises of this book. That really got my attention. Little did I know, I would be up half the night, several nights in a row, reading.. ......Just One More Chapter! Oh the chapters are short.... just one more.
    Well, well, well the usual questions of who, what, where, when and why are all mixed up in the wonderful, creepy read We know we have a serial killer. We know she has killed, as it turns out, quite a few people. But, who, why, where are the bodies, who is nest, and will there be a next?
    Is she really a killer or is she full of S&*t
    In the first few pages I was sucked in for a wild ride that I did not want to end. I finished the book and turned to my sleeping husband, at 4am, and yelled MORE. I am not done yet. He is currently reading the book
    This is the first work by Paul Michael Peters that I have read. I like the way he writes and I plan on hunting down more of his work.
    Give this one a read, but do it on a weekend when you do not have to work in the morning


  10. Randi Robinson Randi Robinson says:

    I thought this book was more psychological than thriller. The plot was an interesting premise and both main characters, though flawed, were well developed. Rick, a survivor of a school shooting at 17 and an author of a book about it, is a college professor and an alcoholic who needs to write another book if he wants to keep his job. He seemed very immature and just going through the motions of living. At a book conference he meets Harriet, a seductive and manipulative self-confessed serial killer who want Rick to write a book about her. He wants proof so they travel around while she shows him evidence of her crimes. The book does have several surprising twists and an ending I was not quite expecting. I received a copy of the audiobook from the author. The narrator did a good job and it was a compulsive listen.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Combustible Punch❴KINDLE❵ ❃ Combustible Punch Author Paul Michael Peters – Liversite.co.uk Rick Philips isn’t a fighter – but he is a survivor

Haunted by memories of a high school shooting, not even the bottle can wash away the gnawing guilt and creeping feelings of inadequacy Rick Philips isn’t a fighter – but he is a survivorHaunted by memories of a high school shooting, not even the bottle can wash away the gnawing guilt and creeping feelings of inadequacy that batter Rick’s conscience dailyHis life has been a mess of broken marriages, writer’s block, terrible choices, and the morbid pity of othersWhen he meets Harriet at a writer’s conference, the record doesn’t scratch as he falls back – only this time, he may not get upHarriet Bristol Wheeler is a dark temptress – and selfconfessed serial killerHarriet has no problem killing – and even fewer issues blending back into the background after the act with the cool, calculating eye of a practiced social chameleonManipulative, unpredictable, and exceptionally intelligent, she’s Rick’s worst nightmare – and the ideal subject for his next bookA book that they are both desperate to writeTime is running out – but the sadness will last foreverRick has no choice but to enter the cracked twilight of Harriet’s world and confront the history of her murderous choices up closeAs Rick starts to gather the evidence for his longanticipated book, he finds himself looking into answers that put him in even danger than before – but this time, he may not survive at allIn the vein of Stieg Larsson and Thomas Harris, Combustible Punch is a memorable novel that captivates readers and lingers long after the last pagethriller suspense paulmichaelpeters bestseller bestsellerauthor serialkiller psychologicalthriller psychologicalthrillers.